Message from the Board Chair

The role of an independent school Board is to guide the school’s mission, vision, values and strategic goals and to establish policies and procedures consistent with those objectives. The Board safeguards the school's assets and oversees executive decision making to enhance the school's performance and reputation.   

West Point Grey Academy is proud to have an active and engaged Board of Directors who cares deeply about the wellbeing of our students, staff, families and community. The WPGA Board of Directors includes current and alumni parents, with the participation of the Head of School and principals, and those who have been instrumental to the school’s history and success, including founding member Dr. Peter Wong, OBC. 

Each Board member brings professional expertise and insights to support the Head of School and Leadership Team. As a collective, the Board approves the school's strategy and distributes the allocation of resources to maintain WPGA’s high-calibre programs. With the Head of School and Leadership Team, the Board holds the trust of the founders, informs the school community, guides the strategic plan, and provides vision and leadership for the school’s continued growth. The WPGA Board embraces the CAIS National Standards of governance practices and hold at least eight meetings annually.

I invite you to review our most recent Annual Report and to contact me at any time to learn more about West Point Grey Academy. 

Peter Blake, FCPA, FCA 
Chair, WPGA Board of Directors 

Annual Report 2017-2018

List of 1 items.

  • Board Committees

    Governance & Nominating  
    • Robert Standerwick, Committee Chair
    • Peter Blake, Board Chair
    • Wendy King, Foundation Chair   
    • Anuja Varshney, Board Director 
    • Stephen Anthony, Head of School 
    • Ciara Corcoran, Head of Junior School 
    Finance & Audit 
    • Sacha McLean, Committee Chair
    • Patrick Chan, Board Director 
    • Yale Loh, Parent 
    • Mark Podlasly, Parent 
    • Cheryl Yue, Board Director 
    • Stephen Anthony, Head of School 
    • Raquel Diaz, Controller
    • Mark Tourigny, Committee Chair 
    • Rob Fung, Parent 
    • David Roddan, Parent 
    • Mark Ostry, Alumni Parent 
    • George Paspalas, Board Director 
    • Stephen Anthony, Head of School 
    • Ciara Corcoran, Head of Junior School 
    Risk Management  
    • Alex Baumgard, Parent 
    • David Tupper, Parent 
    • Stuart Wall, Student 
    • Stephen Anthony, Head of School 
    • Warren Lee, Vice Principal, Junior School  
    • Jonathan Pike, Vice Principal, Senior School  
    • Jon Shaw, Facilities Manager 
    • Ben Zheng, Director of IT 
    • Cameron Johnston, Outdoor Education Teacher 
    • Natalie Wagner, School Nurse
    Advancement & Communications 
    • Elena Smith, Committee Chair
    • Jennifer Bendl, Parent   
    • Kate Rassekh, Foundation Director  
    • Anuja Varshney, Board Director  
    • Stephen Anthony, Head of School 
    • Rebecca Kerbel, Director of Advancement 
    • Megan MacMillan, Director of Communications
    Read More

Board Directors

List of 5 members.

  • Peter Blake 

    Board Chair
  • Patrick Chan 

    Board Director
  • Sacha McLean 

  • George Paspalas 

    Board Director
  • Elena Smith 

    Board Director; Advancement and Communications Committee Chair

List of 5 members.

  • Robert Standerwick, Q.C. 

    Board Chair Emeritus; Foundation Director; Governance Committee Chair
  • Mark Tourigny 

    Board Director; Building Committee Chair
  • Anuja Varshney 

    Board Director, PVG Past Chair
  • Peter Wong 

    Board and Foundation Director; Founding Member
  • Cheryl Yue 

    Board Director